
Coleburn Distillery: History, Revival, Local Heros and Visitor Guide
Coleburn is a historic Speyside distillery with three stories that need to be told separately: the single malt made before its 1985 closure, the working warehouse and bottling activities that followed, and the present revival project.
Local Heros bottles now associated with the site are blended malts. They are not proof that a new Coleburn single malt has already matured. The distinction matters as the owners develop plans for The Distillery at Coleburn and a wider whisky resort.
Coleburn Distillery at a glance
Distillery fact | Verified detail |
|---|---|
Location | Longmorn, south of Elgin, Moray, Speyside |
Founded | 1897 by John Robertson & Son |
Historic architect | Charles Doig |
Old distillery closure | 1985 |
Site ownership | D&M Winchester; Dale and Mark Winchester acquired the buildings in 2004 |
Revival | Phased project; renewed spirit production not independently confirmed for this guide |
Current associated brand | Local Heros blended malt Scotch whiskies |
Historic whisky | Old Coleburn single malt, including independent bottlings |
Operator's postal address | Coleburn Distillery, Longmorn, IV30 8SN, Scotland |
In this guide
Summarise this guide with AI
History of Coleburn Distillery
John Robertson & Son established Coleburn during the late Victorian distillery boom. Charles Doig designed the buildings. Historical accounts distinguish its 1897 foundation from production beginning in 1899, although some bottler summaries use 1897 for both.
The distillery entered the Clynelish company and DCL sphere during the early twentieth century. Much of its output went into blends rather than a widely marketed single malt. Its later history included experimental work and modernisation, but production ended in 1985.
The site did not become irrelevant when the stills stopped. The Winchester brothers purchased the buildings in 2004, and warehousing continued to give Coleburn a role in Scotch whisky. Old bottles, warehouse operations and a revival proposal should therefore never be treated as interchangeable.
Ownership and the people behind the whisky
D&M Winchester owns and develops the distillery site. The current operator's Local Heros pages identify Dale and Mark Winchester as co-owners, with Keith Cruickshank leading the whisky work. Earlier warehouse and bottling arrangements involved other businesses, so the site, the historic brand and individual casks should not be assumed to share one ownership history.
Whisky Magazine's April 2026 on-site report describes a phased development involving hospitality, accommodation and eventual distillation. It does not establish a completed new distillery or a confirmed first cask. Opening forecasts remain plans until the operator confirms otherwise.
Production and maturation
The old Coleburn made malt whisky on copper pot stills. Its remaining casks can still appear as single malt when selected and bottled, but they pre-date the closure.
The current Local Heros trio is independently sourced blended malt, selected and bottled in association with the Coleburn site. This is a different category from a single malt distilled at Coleburn. Bottle-library links should therefore identify the site's role as bottler or brand home, not assert that it distilled every component.
The revival's proposed equipment and output remain development specifications rather than verified current capacity. This guide does not assign an operating litre-per-year figure to an unconfirmed restart.
Whisky range and documented bottles
Local Heros is intentionally spelled without the second 'e' in Heroes. All three expressions are documented at 46% ABV in 700 ml bottles. No age statement is supplied on the checked product pages.
Local Heros Sherry Bomb
Bottle detail | Local Heros Sherry Bomb |
|---|---|
Age or vintage | No age statement |
ABV | 46% |
Casks | Oloroso and refill casks, according to the producer |
Type and release | Blended malt Scotch whisky; bottled at Coleburn, not claimed as Coleburn single malt |
Producer summary, nose: orchard fruit, honey and baking spice.
Palate: dried fruit and nutty sweetness.
Finish: a smooth, fruity close of moderate length.
Local Heros Big Smoke
Bottle detail | Local Heros Big Smoke |
|---|---|
Age or vintage | No age statement |
ABV | 46% |
Casks | Detailed cask recipe not specified on the checked product page |
Type and release | Blended malt Scotch whisky; 700 ml |

Producer summary, nose: fruit sweetness with a coastal, smoky edge.
Palate: medicinal smoke alongside banana and salt.
Finish: persistent smoke.
Local Heros Sweet Peat
Bottle detail | Local Heros Sweet Peat |
|---|---|
Age or vintage | No age statement |
ABV | 46% |
Casks | Detailed cask recipe not specified on the checked product page |
Type and release | Blended malt Scotch whisky; 700 ml |
Producer summary, nose: caramelised sweetness and restrained smoke.
Palate: honeyed confectionery and ripe fruit.
Finish: a sustained sweet, smoky impression.
Rare releases, awards and historical context
A documented example of actual old Coleburn single malt is Gordon & MacPhail's 125th Anniversary 1972 release. Bottled in 2020 at 47 years old and 62.4% ABV, it came from refill sherry puncheon 3511, with an outturn of 363 bottles.
The bottler describes concentrated fruit sweetness with butterscotch and an herbal finish. This is a paraphrase of its notes, not a Whisky Clan tasting. Its age and strength belong to that single release and should not be copied to another Coleburn vintage.
Any new whisky eventually made by the revived operation will need its own production and maturation record. It cannot immediately acquire the age or provenance of stocks distilled before 1985.
Visitor information
The operator provides an enquiry route for the Coleburn site, with an Excise Office associated with whisky sales and cask management. A published revival plan is not, by itself, a confirmed walk-in tour timetable, completed hotel or available spa booking.
Contact the operator about current access before travelling. The guide's exterior photograph dates from May 2005 and is expressly an archive image; it does not show the completed resort envisaged in the current plans.
Other distilleries in the Elgin and Longmorn area
These nearby guides help place Coleburn in Speyside's landscape. Public access varies by producer.
Test your distillery knowledge
Take the four-question Coleburn Distillery quiz
Help improve this distillery guide
Have a verified correction, a distillery photograph or a first-hand visitor update? Share it using the form below. Editorial submissions are reviewed, and newsletter subscription is optional.
Frequently asked questions
Has Coleburn definitely restarted distilling?
A revival is being developed, but the sources checked do not establish a confirmed new first cask. The earlier distillery stopped production in 1985.
Is Local Heros a Coleburn single malt?
No. The current trilogy consists of blended malt Scotch whiskies associated with bottling at Coleburn.
Who owns the site?
D&M Winchester, associated with Dale and Mark Winchester, acquired the historic buildings in 2004.
Can I book a normal distillery tour?
Confirm the current arrangements directly through the operator. Do not assume the announced resort facilities or a regular tour programme are already open.
Sources and photograph credits
Research and product pages checked on 26 October 2026. Prices and availability are not guaranteed. Tasting descriptions are attributed producer summaries, not independent Whisky Clan reviews.
C A Millar, Coleburn Distillery, 4 May 2005, via Geograph and Wikimedia Commons. CC BY-SA 2.0. Image content unmodified; display sizing and automatic crops may vary.
Local Heros / The Distillery at Coleburn, official Big Smoke bottle photograph.
About the author
Filip Janczak Storyteller, drinker and explorer of all things whisky. Read more about the person behind Whisky Clan and explore additional reviews and distillery guides. |






Comments